

SOUTH CAROLINA REVENUE AND FISCAL AFFAIRS OFFICE STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED FISCAL IMPACT (803)734-0640 • RFA.SC.GOV/IMPACTS

Bill Number:	S. 0162	Introduced on January 8, 2019	
Author:	Bennett		
Subject:	Vehicle Registration		
Requestor:	Senate Finance		
RFA Analyst(s):	Miller and Gardner		
Impact Date:	March 8, 2	019	

Fiscal Impact Summary

This bill will increase General Fund revenue by \$68.50 and Other Fund revenue by \$361.50 for each conviction for failure to register a vehicle, due to the increased sum collected for the 107.5 percent surcharge on the fine, beginning in FY 2019-20.

This bill will increase local revenue by \$400 for each conviction for failure to register a vehicle, due to the increase of the fine from \$100 to \$500, beginning in FY 2019-20.

Explanation of Fiscal Impact

Introduced on January 8, 2019 State Expenditure N/A

State Revenue

This bill increases the maximum fine for a person who fails to register a vehicle pursuant to §12-73-2610 to \$500. Currently, the maximum fine is \$100 with assessment fees and local surcharge totaling \$30 and a state surcharge of 107.5 percent of the fine. The current total of the fine with all other applicable fees is \$237.50. The South Carolina Judicial Department reported in FY 2017-18, of the ten disputes brought for failure to register or falsely registering a vehicle, only one was convicted. Assuming only one conviction annually going forward, this bill will increase fines by \$400, beginning in FY 2019-20. The table below shows how the bill increases the fine and the other applicable fees and surcharges.

	Current Law	Bill	Increase
Fine	\$100	\$500	\$400
State Surcharge	\$107.50	\$537.50	\$430
Assessment Fee	\$25	\$25	\$0
Local Court Surcharge	\$5	\$5	\$0
Totals	\$237.50	\$1,067.50	\$830

As shown in the table above, this bill increases revenue by \$830, \$430 of which is remitted to the State Treasurer to be distributed as required by \$14-1-207, which requires 15.93 percent, \$68.50, of the revenue to be deposited in the General Fund. The remaining 84.07 percent, \$361.50 will increase Other Funds to various state agencies as required by \$14-1-207. Therefore, this bill

increases General Fund revenue by \$68.50 and Other Funds revenue by \$361.50, beginning in FY 2019-20.

Local Expenditure

N/A

Local Revenue

This bill increases the maximum fine for a person who fails to register a vehicle pursuant to \$12-37-2610 to \$500. Currently, the maximum fine is \$100 with a surcharge of 107.5 percent that must be remitted to the State Treasurer. As discussed above, this bill increases the fine by \$400 and the surcharge by \$430 for each party found guilty of failure to register his vehicle.

Any increase in fines will increase the revenue of the county in which the violation occurred. The South Carolina Judicial Department reported in FY 2017-18, of the ten disputes brought for failure to register or falsely registering a vehicle, only one was convicted. Assuming only one conviction annually going forward, this bill will increase fines by \$400 for local revenue in the county where the violation occurs, beginning in FY 2019-20.

Frank A. Rainwater, Executive Director